Vegan Kosher for Passover Soup Recipes for Seder

Image credit Liz West
The green lifestyle and health concerns have growing numbers of Jews going vegan and/or entertaining more vegan guests at their tables. Interesting culinary challenges are cropping up as a direct result. I surfed the blogosphere for these vegan Kosher for Passover soup recipes to help out my Hebrew readers. I’m spiritual, non-religious and not of Jewish heritage. However, I’m striving to learn more about the Kosher diet in terms of veganism. If I do my job right, my readers can then relax and enjoy the spiritual, mental, emotional and physical pleasures of cooking, serving and eating according to their Kosher vegan beliefs.

A note to my non-Hebrew readers: P is an abbreviation representing “Kosher for Passover.” Kosher is a set of guidelines composed by rabbis thousands of years ago for spiritual and physical purposes. While people of Jewish heritage and faith don’t always keep Kosher throughout the year, many adhere to stricter guidelines during Passover, which occurs more than once a year. There’s also the increased complexity of living by a calendar loaded with cycles of holidays, feasts and fasts that differs significantly from the largely Christian calendar primarily used in developed Western countries.

General Kosher and Passover rules also vary between Sephardic and Ashkenazi Jews, who have different geological lineages and traditions. So keeping Kosher isn’t always the easiest lifestyle, but it’s worth learning a little about if you have Kosher friends or family. For them, it’s rewarding to continue traditions that have been handed down for a remarkable period of time, and some of the rules even make good health sense.

Kosher for Passover soup recipes cannot contain flour. Many vegan and vegetarian allegedly Kosher Passover soup recipes on the web contain these very things. Thus, Kosher home cooks and chefs must read potentially Passover web recipes with caution. The recipes below are free of flour, peanut butter and soy.

Most Ashkenazis are not allowed peanut butter or soy, due to their legume status. However, some Ashkenazi rabbis have accepted the consumption of tofu, which can be used in place of eggs in baked matzo balls. This is necessary, because the egg replacer commonly used by vegans and vegetarians to hold matzo balls together is not Kosher for Passover.

So browse below for your soup course and rest assured you’ll be good to go as you serve these vegan Kosher for Passover soup recipes to your family and friends. 

Vegan Mock Chicken Soup for Passover (DF, GF, SF, K, P, V, VG) (Big Oven)
Potato Soup (DF, GF, SF, K, P, V, VG) (Mrsspeevs/Food.com)
Ghormeh Sabzi (Persian Herb Soup) (DF, GF, SF, K, P, V, VG) (Café Liz)
Bay Leaf Beet Soup (DF, GF, SF, K, P, V, VG) (AllRecipes/Yummly)
Roasted Tomato Basil Soup (DF, GF, SF, K, P, V, VG) (Jennifer McCann/Chow)
Vegan Kosher Resources: Big Oven
Remember to visit our Recipe Index for more Kosher soup recipes. Bon appetit!

No comments:

Post a Comment